« Back to Buzz

Fandango Helps MTV Pick the Oscar Winners: Best Supporting Actor and Actress

Posted by Sean Oconnell on February 20, 2013

Fandango recently visited the New York offices of MTV News, where correspondent Joshua Horowitz invited Oscar experts for a series of lively chats about the top categories in this Sunday’s Academy Awards.

Together with VH1’s Janelle Snowden, Entertainment Weekly’s Darren Franich and Extra’s Ben Lyons, we hashed out who we thought should win in the major Oscar categories, who actually will win, and who was on the outside looking in. Our predictions will be streaming in during the week as we lead up to the Oscar telecast, but we have two to share with you right now.

We started the session talking about the Best Supporting Actress category to figure out if anyone could upset Anne Hathaway and her stirring performance in Tom Hooper’s Les Miserables:

There was a lot more diversity of opinion, however, when we started singling out our picks in the Best Supporting Actor race, in which veterans Tommy Lee Jones, Alan Arkin, Philip Seymour Hoffman and Christoph Waltz compete for Oscar glory:

Of course, our own Dave Karger has been covering every detail of the Oscar race in Fandango’s Awards Watch Guide, and you can hear his latest predictions in the major categories in the original video series The Frontrunners.

Follow along on Twitter @Sean_OConnell and @Fandango

Comments :

There are no comments for this post.

This post has 20 feedbacks awaiting moderation...

Comments are closed for this post.

ACADEMY AWARD®, ACADEMY AWARDS®, OSCARS®, OSCAR NIGHT®, A.M.P.A.S.® , the OSCAR® design mark and the Academy's Oscar statuette are the trademarks and service marks of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Golden Globe(s)®, Hollywood Foreign Press Association® And Golden Globe® statuette design mark are the registered trademarks and service marks and the GOLDEN GLOBE® statuette the copyrighted property, of the Hollywood Foreign Press Association. The trademarks "The Actor®", "Screen Actors Guild Awards®", The SAG Awards™ and "Screen Actor®" are registered trademarks of Screen Actors Guild™. This site is neither endorsed by nor affiliated with the above named organizations.